Stages and Categories of church members

Spread the love

Stages and Categories of church members


*Inquirers* (Those who may be pagan or non-believers who are visitors, and are not allowed to partake of the Sacraments.)

*Catechumens* (Christians who confess they believe, and are new to the conversion process. They’re learning instruction and showing they are fully willing to do it. As they are not baptized, they have only a special set of the Sacraments.)

*The Energumens* (Those still possessed with demons, willingly or by affliction.)

*Candidates for Baptism* (Completed stage of preparation and trial, and are ready for baptism.)

*The Baptized and Confirmed* (Engaged in the process of transformation and sanctification with special help of the church.)

*The Penitents* (A convert who has fallen backslidden into sin. One who is in the process of confessing sin, getting rightful counselling, prayers for his soul to be forgiven and for healing. He is under a program that is constructive toward changing his life to come back again to the path of life.)

*The Faithful* (The regular status of a converted Christian. They live their lives as examples of fidelity to all their baptismal promises as Saints and new creatures in Christ.)


Sacraments of the Orthodox Church of the Culdees

The main sacraments are Baptism and Communion.

A more comprehensive view of our Biblically commanded Divine services are as follows:

Daily Blessings of the Hours
Weekly Sabbath
Lifting of Incense
Annual Feasts
Pilgrimage Festivals
Biblical Counselling
Unction For the Sick
Ordination of Ministers

Leave a Reply